Clinical trial registry record

Exercise and Nutrition Interventions in Age-related Sarcopenia

A registered study indexed because it matched monitored longevity research terms. Registry status: Completed. Registration does not establish safety or effectiveness.

Plain-language guide

Five questions to ask about this record

What this is
A clinical study registration, not a result or recommendation.
Why it may matter
The registry currently reports Completed.
Evidence
Registered phase not reported study.
Main limitation
Registration does not prove that the intervention works, is safe, or is available to you.
What changed
Registry metadata was last updated September 11, 2025.
Where to verify
Open the primary registry below for eligibility, locations, contacts, and current status.
Registry ID
NCT02912130
Last registry update
September 11, 2025
Status
Completed
Phase
Phase not reported
Sponsor
Liverpool Hope University
Enrollment
110
Countries
United Kingdom
Match confidence
100%
Source feed
ClinicalTrials.gov
Automated source synopsis

A registered study indexed because it matched monitored longevity research terms. Registry status: Completed. Registration does not establish safety or effectiveness.

Evidence snapshot

What the source actually supports

Evidence stage
Phase not reported
Study design
RANDOMIZED · FACTORIAL · PREVENTION · NONE
Evidence population
Human clinical study registration
Participants
110
Population
ALL · 60 Years to 90 Years
Duration
2016-09-01 to 2023-12-01
Intervention
Protein Supplementation; Aerobic Exercise; Resistance Exercise
Comparator
Control
Outcomes measured
Body Composition: Lean Muscle/Fat Tissue 1) appendicular lean mass (kg) divided by height (meters-squared) and 2) appen…; Grip Strength: Hand Grip Dynanometer (kg) — 16 weeks; Gait speed during timed 4-meter walk (m/s) — 16 Weeks; Time to complete five chair rises (m/s) — 16 Weeks; Balance assessment: 1) feet side to side, 2) semi-tandem, 3) full tandem, and 4) single leg. Scored as Yes or No. — 16…; Isometric Strength - Knee Flexion/Extension: Dynanometer (Nm/Kg) — 16 Weeks; Muscle Fatigue: Upper & Lower limb: 25% of MVC during 60 seconds using Electromyography (EMG), measured in millivolts (…; Exercise Tolerance: Six Minute Walk Test (metres) — 16 Weeks; 10-metre Gait analysis during habitual walking speed using Electromyography (EMG) — 16 Weeks; 10-metre Gait analysis during habitual walking speed using Three-Dimensional Motion Capture - 1) Spatiotemporal, 2) Kin…; Biochemical: Glycated Haemoglobin (HBA1c) (%) — 16 Weeks; Biochemical: C-Reactive Protein (CRP) (mg/L) — 16 Weeks; Biochemical: Insulin-Like Growth Factor 1 (IGF-1) (ng/ml) — 16 Weeks; Arterial Pressure: Pulse Wave Velocity (m/s) — 16 Weeks; Energy Balance: Periodic Food Diary (Kcal) — 16 Weeks; World Health Organization Quality Of Life Assessment (WHOQOL): Each question is scored from 1-5 on a response scale — 1…; Short-Form Health Survey (SF-12): Each question is scored between 1-6 on a response scale — 16 Weeks; Activities of Daily Living (ADL): Each response is scored as either: 0 or 1 — 16 Weeks; Mini-Mental State Examination (MMSE): Each correct response is scored as 1 point — 16 Weeks; Nutritional Status: Mini-Nutritional Assessment (MNA) - Classified as (Low, Moderate, High risk) — 16 weeks
Reported result
No reusable finding-level result is available in this record.

Main limitationThis is a study registration. No reusable structured result is available here, so it cannot show whether the intervention worked or was safe.

Safety and approvalEligibility, adverse-event details, and clinical decisions must be checked in the official registry and with qualified clinicians. Trial registration is not regulatory approval and does not establish that an intervention is available.

Source supportStructured registry protocol metadata; no finding-level conclusion is generated.

Trial stage · Phase not reportedA trial phase describes development stage; it does not establish a positive result.
Phase 1Phase 2Phase 3Phase 4

Registration and recruitment status do not establish safety, efficacy, or regulatory approval.

Why this record appears here · 100% topic match

The title, summary, or source keywords matched one or more topics followed by immortal.life. A higher percentage means a stronger topic match; it does not rate safety, effectiveness, or study quality.

  • Sarcopenia · 100%Title contains controlled term: sarcopenia. Abstract contains controlled term: sarcopenia. Source terminology contains: sarcopenia. Title supplies longevity context: age-related. Study type is explicitly identified as INTERVENTIONAL.

Automated source check 100% · update recency 65%. These figures help sort records; they are not medical ratings.