Clinical trial registry record

Implementing an Evidence-based Exercise Program to Reduce Falls in Community-dwelling Older Adults (Otago)

A registered study indexed because it matched monitored longevity research terms. Registry status: Active Not Recruiting. Registration does not establish safety or effectiveness.

Plain-language guide

Five questions to ask about this record

What this is
A clinical study registration, not a result or recommendation.
Why it may matter
The registry currently reports Active Not Recruiting.
Evidence
Registered phase not reported study.
Main limitation
Registration does not prove that the intervention works, is safe, or is available to you.
What changed
Registry metadata was last updated January 29, 2026.
Where to verify
Open the primary registry below for eligibility, locations, contacts, and current status.
Registry ID
NCT04851405
Last registry update
January 29, 2026
Status
Active Not Recruiting
Phase
Phase not reported
Sponsor
University of British Columbia
Enrollment
35
Countries
Canada
Match confidence
100%
Source feed
ClinicalTrials.gov
Automated source synopsis

A registered study indexed because it matched monitored longevity research terms. Registry status: Active Not Recruiting. Registration does not establish safety or effectiveness.

Evidence snapshot

What the source actually supports

Evidence stage
Phase not reported
Study design
RANDOMIZED · CROSSOVER · SUPPORTIVE CARE · SINGLE
Evidence population
Human clinical study registration
Participants
35
Population
ALL · 70 Years
Duration
2021-09-01 to 2026-06-01
Intervention
Otago Exercise Programme+ (OEP+); Otago Exercise Programme (OEP)
Comparator
Otago Exercise Programme+ Intervention Group (OEP+); Otago Exercise Programme Group (OEP)
Outcomes measured
Physiotherapist-level outcome - Brief Action Planning (BAP) Scores — During the 12-month intervention; Older Adult-Level Outcome - rate of adherence to the Otago Exercise Program (OEP) — During the 12-month intervention; Older Adult-Level Outcome - Number of Falls — During the 12-month intervention; Older Adult-Level Outcome - Number of Falls — During the 12 months after the intervention (i.e., 13-24 months); Older Adult-Level Outcome - Physiological Profile Assessment© (PPA) — Baseline; Older Adult-Level Outcome - Physiological Profile Assessment© (PPA) — 6 months; Older Adult-Level Outcome - Physiological Profile Assessment© (PPA) — 12 months; Older Adult-Level Outcome - Physiological Profile Assessment© (PPA) — 18 months; Older Adult-Level Outcome - Physiological Profile Assessment© (PPA) — 24 months; Older Adult-Level Outcome - Average Daily Step Count — Baseline; Older Adult-Level Outcome - Average Daily Step Count — 6 months; Older Adult-Level Outcome - Average Daily Step Count — 12 months; Older Adult-Level Outcome - Average Daily Step Count — 18 months; Older Adult-Level Outcome - Average Daily Step Count — 24 months; Older Adult-Level Outcome - EuroQol-5D-5 Level version (EQ-5D-5L) — Baseline; Older Adult-Level Outcome - EuroQol-5D-5 Level version (EQ-5D-5L) — 6 months; Older Adult-Level Outcome - EuroQol-5D-5 Level version (EQ-5D-5L) — 12 months; Older Adult-Level Outcome - EuroQol-5D-5 Level version (EQ-5D-5L) — 18 months; Older Adult-Level Outcome - EuroQol-5D-5 Level version (EQ-5D-5L) — 24 months; Older Adult-Level Outcome - Health Resource Utilization Questionnaire (HRU) — Baseline
Reported result
No reusable finding-level result is available in this record.

Main limitationThis is a study registration. No reusable structured result is available here, so it cannot show whether the intervention worked or was safe.

Safety and approvalEligibility, adverse-event details, and clinical decisions must be checked in the official registry and with qualified clinicians. Trial registration is not regulatory approval and does not establish that an intervention is available.

Source supportStructured registry protocol metadata; no finding-level conclusion is generated.

Trial stage · Phase not reportedA trial phase describes development stage; it does not establish a positive result.
Phase 1Phase 2Phase 3Phase 4

Registration and recruitment status do not establish safety, efficacy, or regulatory approval.

Why this record appears here · 100% topic match

The title, summary, or source keywords matched one or more topics followed by immortal.life. A higher percentage means a stronger topic match; it does not rate safety, effectiveness, or study quality.

  • Exercise · 100%Title contains controlled term: exercise. Abstract contains controlled term: exercise. Source terminology contains: exercise. Title supplies longevity context: older adult. Study type is explicitly identified as INTERVENTIONAL.

Automated source check 100% · update recency 85%. These figures help sort records; they are not medical ratings.