Clinical trial registry record

L-serine and Strength Training in the Elderly

A registered study indexed because it matched monitored longevity research terms. Registry status: Recruiting. Registration does not establish safety or effectiveness.

Plain-language guide

Five questions to ask about this record

What this is
A clinical study registration, not a result or recommendation.
Why it may matter
The registry currently reports Recruiting.
Evidence
Registered phase not reported study.
Main limitation
Registration does not prove that the intervention works, is safe, or is available to you.
What changed
Registry metadata was last updated March 12, 2026.
Where to verify
Open the primary registry below for eligibility, locations, contacts, and current status.
Registry ID
NCT07466290
Last registry update
March 12, 2026
Status
Recruiting
Phase
Phase not reported
Sponsor
University of Vienna
Enrollment
126
Countries
Austria
Match confidence
100%
Source feed
ClinicalTrials.gov
Automated source synopsis

A registered study indexed because it matched monitored longevity research terms. Registry status: Recruiting. Registration does not establish safety or effectiveness.

Evidence snapshot

What the source actually supports

Evidence stage
Phase not reported
Study design
RANDOMIZED · PARALLEL · BASIC SCIENCE · QUADRUPLE
Evidence population
Human clinical study registration
Participants
126
Population
ALL · 65 Years to 85 Years
Duration
2026-03-01 to 2028-12-01
Intervention
Strength training; L-serine supplementation; Control (cornstarch)
Comparator
L-serine supplementation; Control
Outcomes measured
Change in cognitive performance measured by the Repeatable Battery for the Assessment of Neuropsychological Status (RBA…; Change in cognitive domain performance measured by index scores of RBANS — Baseline, 18 weeks and 48 weeks of intervent…; Change in hippocampal volume measured by magnetic resonance imaging (mm³) — Baseline and 48 weeks of intervention; Change in hippocampal functional connectivity measured by functional magnetic resonance imaging — Baseline and 48 weeks…; Change in oscillatory brain activity measured using electroencephalography — Baseline, 18 weeks and 48 weeks of interve…; Change in hippocampal neurometabolite concentrations measured using single voxel magnetic resonance spectroscopy — Base…; Change in lower limb muscle strength (isokinetic torque, dominant leg) — Baseline, 18 weeks and 48 weeks of intervention; Rate of torque development (Nm/s) will be measured at a joint angle of 60 degrees flexion (knee) and 40 degrees flexion…; Change in maximum and total work (J) of knee and hip flexion and extension — Baseline, 18 weeks and 48 of intervention; Position of peak torque and maximum range of motion (deg.) — Baseline, 18 weeks and 48 weeks of intervention; Change in time to peak torque and time from peak to relaxation (sec.) during knee and hip extension and flexion — Basel…; Mean power (W) in knee and hip extension and flexion — Baseline, 18 weeks, and 48 weeks of intervention; Change in isometric handgrip strength — Baseline, 18 weeks, and 48 weeks of intervention; Change in upper extremity functional performance measured by the 30-Second Arm Curl Test — Baseline, 18 weeks, and 48 w…; Change in upper-body flexibility (Back Scratch Test) — Baseline, 18 weeks, and 48 weeks of intervention; Change in Lower body flexibility (Chair Sit and Reach Test) — Baseline, 18 weeks, and 48 weeks of intervention; Change in lower extremity functional muscular performance measured by the 30-Second Chair Stand Test — Baseline, 18 wee…; Mobility and dynamic balance (Stand Up and Go Test) — Baseline, 18 weeks, and 48 weeks of intervention; Change in body composition measured by bioelectrical impedance analysis — Baseline, 18 weeks, and 48 weeks of intervent…; Change in waist, abdominal, hip circumference (cm) — Baseline, 18 weeks, and 48 weeks of intervention
Reported result
No reusable finding-level result is available in this record.

Main limitationThis is a study registration. No reusable structured result is available here, so it cannot show whether the intervention worked or was safe.

Safety and approvalEligibility, adverse-event details, and clinical decisions must be checked in the official registry and with qualified clinicians. Trial registration is not regulatory approval and does not establish that an intervention is available.

Source supportStructured registry protocol metadata; no finding-level conclusion is generated.

Trial stage · Phase not reportedA trial phase describes development stage; it does not establish a positive result.
Phase 1Phase 2Phase 3Phase 4

Registration and recruitment status do not establish safety, efficacy, or regulatory approval.

Why this record appears here · 100% topic match

The title, summary, or source keywords matched one or more topics followed by immortal.life. A higher percentage means a stronger topic match; it does not rate safety, effectiveness, or study quality.

  • Resistance training · 100%Title contains controlled term: strength training. Abstract contains controlled term: strength training. Source terminology contains: strength training. Title supplies longevity context: elderly. Study type is explicitly identified as INTERVENTIONAL.

Automated source check 100% · update recency 85%. These figures help sort records; they are not medical ratings.