Clinical trial registry record

Staying Active With Arthritis: RCT of Physical Activity for Older Adults With Osteoarthritis and Hypertension

A registered study indexed because it matched monitored longevity research terms. Registry status: Completed. Registration does not establish safety or effectiveness.

Plain-language guide

Five questions to ask about this record

What this is
A clinical study registration, not a result or recommendation.
Why it may matter
The registry currently reports Completed.
Evidence
Registered phase not reported study.
Main limitation
Registration does not prove that the intervention works, is safe, or is available to you.
What changed
Registry metadata was last updated September 19, 2024.
Where to verify
Open the primary registry below for eligibility, locations, contacts, and current status.
Registry ID
NCT01280903
Last registry update
September 19, 2024
Status
Completed
Phase
Phase not reported
Sponsor
University of Pittsburgh
Enrollment
182
Countries
United States
Match confidence
100%
Source feed
ClinicalTrials.gov
Automated source synopsis

A registered study indexed because it matched monitored longevity research terms. Registry status: Completed. Registration does not establish safety or effectiveness.

Evidence snapshot

What the source actually supports

Evidence stage
Phase not reported
Study design
RANDOMIZED · PARALLEL · TREATMENT · SINGLE
Evidence population
Human clinical study registration
Participants
182
Population
ALL · 50 Years
Duration
2012-01-01 to 2015-04-01
Intervention
STAR Intervention; Attention-Control
Comparator
Attention-Control
Outcomes measured
Performance of Lower Extremity Exercise at 25 Weeks — At the end of the 6-month intervention period (week 25); Participation in Fitness Walking at 25 Weeks — At the end of the 6-month intervention period (week 25); Objective Functional Status by the 6-minute Walk at 25 Weeks — At the end of the 6-month intervention period (week 25); Objective Functional Status by the Short Physical Performance Battery at 25 Weeks — At the end of the 6-month intervent…; Systolic Blood Pressure at 25 Weeks — At the end of the 6-month intervention period (week 25); Diastolic Blood Pressure at 25 Weeks — At the end of the 6-month intervention period (week 25); Performance of Lower Extremity Exercise at 52 Weeks — 6 months after the intervention period ends (week 52); Participation in Fitness Walking at 52 Weeks — 6 months after the intervention period ends (week 52); Objective Functional Status by the 6-minute Walk at 52 Weeks — 6 months after the intervention period ends (week 52); Objective Functional Status by the Short Physical Performance Battery at 52 Weeks — 6 months after the intervention per…; Systolic Blood Pressure at 52 Weeks — 6 months after the intervention period ends (week 52); Diastolic Blood Pressure at 52 Weeks — 6 months after the intervention period ends (week 52); Subjective Functional Status at 25 Weeks — At the end of the 6-month intervention period (week 25); Quadriceps Strength at 25 Weeks — At the end of the 6-month intervention period (week 25); Pain by the Pain Subscale of the Western Ontario and McMaster Universities (WOMAC) Osteoarthritis Index at 25 Weeks — A…; Pain by the Bodily Pain Subscale of the Short Form-36v2 at 25 Weeks — At the end of the 6-month intervention period (we…; Fatigue at 25 Weeks — At the end of the 6-month intervention period (week 25); Health-Related Quality of Life at 25 Weeks — At the end of the 6-month intervention period (week 25); Self-Efficacy at 25 Weeks — At the end of the 6-month intervention period (week 25); Arthritis Self-Efficacy at 25 Weeks — At the end of the 6-month intervention period (week 25)
Reported result
No reusable finding-level result is available in this record.

Main limitationThis is a study registration. No reusable structured result is available here, so it cannot show whether the intervention worked or was safe.

Safety and approvalEligibility, adverse-event details, and clinical decisions must be checked in the official registry and with qualified clinicians. Trial registration is not regulatory approval and does not establish that an intervention is available.

Source supportStructured registry protocol metadata; no finding-level conclusion is generated.

Trial stage · Phase not reportedA trial phase describes development stage; it does not establish a positive result.
Phase 1Phase 2Phase 3Phase 4

Registration and recruitment status do not establish safety, efficacy, or regulatory approval.

Why this record appears here · 100% topic match

The title, summary, or source keywords matched one or more topics followed by immortal.life. A higher percentage means a stronger topic match; it does not rate safety, effectiveness, or study quality.

  • Joint and cartilage ageing · 100%Title contains controlled term: osteoarthritis. Abstract contains controlled term: osteoarthritis. Source terminology contains: osteoarthritis. Title supplies longevity context: older adult. Study type is explicitly identified as INTERVENTIONAL.

Automated source check 100% · update recency 65%. These figures help sort records; they are not medical ratings.