Clinical trial registry record

The Cognitive Ageing Nutrition and Neurogenesis (CANN) Trial

A registered study indexed because it matched monitored longevity research terms. Registry status: Completed. Registration does not establish safety or effectiveness.

Plain-language guide

Five questions to ask about this record

What this is
A clinical study registration, not a result or recommendation.
Why it may matter
The registry currently reports Completed.
Evidence
Registered phase not reported study.
Main limitation
Registration does not prove that the intervention works, is safe, or is available to you.
What changed
Registry metadata was last updated May 14, 2024.
Where to verify
Open the primary registry below for eligibility, locations, contacts, and current status.
Registry ID
NCT02525198
Last registry update
May 14, 2024
Status
Completed
Phase
Phase not reported
Sponsor
University of East Anglia
Enrollment
259
Countries
United States, Australia, United Kingdom
Match confidence
80%
Source feed
ClinicalTrials.gov
Automated source synopsis

A registered study indexed because it matched monitored longevity research terms. Registry status: Completed. Registration does not establish safety or effectiveness.

Evidence snapshot

What the source actually supports

Evidence stage
Phase not reported
Study design
RANDOMIZED · PARALLEL · TREATMENT · TRIPLE
Evidence population
Human clinical study registration
Participants
259
Population
ALL · 55 Years
Duration
2015-08-01 to 2018-03-31
Intervention
fatty acid/flavonoid blend; Placebo
Comparator
Placebo
Outcomes measured
Number of false positive responses during the picture recognition task of the CDR Computerized Cognitive Assessment Sys…; Hippocampal volume — 12 months; Gut microflora speciation and metabolism — 12 months; Association between baseline APOE status and number of false positive responses during the picture recognition task of…; Circulating biomarkers of cognition — 12 months; Circulating biomarkers of cardiovascular health — 12 months; Language ability on the Boston Naming Test — 12 months; Visuospatial ability on the Repeatable Battery for the Assessment of Neuropsychological Status (RBANS) Figure Copy test…; Attention ability on the Digit Span task — 12 months; Executive function on the Trail Making Task — 12 months; Cerebrovascular blood flow — 12 months; Measurement of blood brain barrier permeability — 8 minutes
Reported result
No reusable finding-level result is available in this record.

Main limitationThis is a study registration. No reusable structured result is available here, so it cannot show whether the intervention worked or was safe.

Safety and approvalEligibility, adverse-event details, and clinical decisions must be checked in the official registry and with qualified clinicians. Trial registration is not regulatory approval and does not establish that an intervention is available.

Source supportStructured registry protocol metadata; no finding-level conclusion is generated.

Trial stage · Phase not reportedA trial phase describes development stage; it does not establish a positive result.
Phase 1Phase 2Phase 3Phase 4

Registration and recruitment status do not establish safety, efficacy, or regulatory approval.

Why this record appears here · 80% topic match

The title, summary, or source keywords matched one or more topics followed by immortal.life. A higher percentage means a stronger topic match; it does not rate safety, effectiveness, or study quality.

  • Cognitive ageing · 80%Title contains controlled term: cognitive ageing. Title supplies longevity context: ageing. Study type is explicitly identified as INTERVENTIONAL.

Automated source check 100% · update recency 65%. These figures help sort records; they are not medical ratings.