Clinical trial registry record

Protein Supplement and Exercise Training for the Treatment of Sarcopenia Risk in Older Adults

A registered study indexed because it matched monitored longevity research terms. Registry status: Completed. Registration does not establish safety or effectiveness.

Plain-language guide

Five questions to ask about this record

What this is
A clinical study registration, not a result or recommendation.
Why it may matter
The registry currently reports Completed.
Evidence
Registered phase not reported study.
Main limitation
Registration does not prove that the intervention works, is safe, or is available to you.
What changed
Registry metadata was last updated March 17, 2026.
Where to verify
Open the primary registry below for eligibility, locations, contacts, and current status.
Registry ID
NCT05688956
Last registry update
March 17, 2026
Status
Completed
Phase
Phase not reported
Sponsor
University College Dublin
Enrollment
46
Countries
Ireland
Match confidence
100%
Source feed
ClinicalTrials.gov
Automated source synopsis

A registered study indexed because it matched monitored longevity research terms. Registry status: Completed. Registration does not establish safety or effectiveness.

Evidence snapshot

What the source actually supports

Evidence stage
Phase not reported
Study design
RANDOMIZED · PARALLEL · TREATMENT · SINGLE
Evidence population
Human clinical study registration
Participants
46
Population
ALL · 70 Years to 100 Years
Duration
2023-02-01 to 2025-05-31
Intervention
Fortimel Advanced, Nutricia; Resistance Exercise programme; Dietary advice
Comparator
(ii) Exercise-alone group
Outcomes measured
Change from baseline functional status at 12 weeks — 12 weeks; Change from baseline nutritional status at 12 weeks — 12 weeks; Adherence — 12 weeks; Muscle mass — Values at baseline will be compared to values recorded at 12 and at 24 weeks; Muscle strength — Values at baseline will be compared to values recorded at 12 and at 24 weeks; Five Times Sit-To-Stand test — Values at baseline will be compared to values recorded at 12 and at 24 weeks; 4 m Gait Speed test — Values at baseline will be compared to values recorded at 12 and at 24 weeks; Change in self-reported quality of life — Values at baseline will be compared to values recorded at 12 and at 24 weeks; Change in risk of depression — Values at baseline will be compared to values recorded at 12 and at 24 weeks; Change in functional status — Values at baseline will be compared to values recorded at 12 and at 24 weeks; Change in baseline nutritional status at week 24 — 24 weeks; Change from baseline functional status at 24 weeks — 24 weeks; Retention — Up to 24 weeks; Recruitment — Up to 24 weeks
Reported result
No reusable finding-level result is available in this record.

Main limitationThis is a study registration. No reusable structured result is available here, so it cannot show whether the intervention worked or was safe.

Safety and approvalEligibility, adverse-event details, and clinical decisions must be checked in the official registry and with qualified clinicians. Trial registration is not regulatory approval and does not establish that an intervention is available.

Source supportStructured registry protocol metadata; no finding-level conclusion is generated.

Trial stage · Phase not reportedA trial phase describes development stage; it does not establish a positive result.
Phase 1Phase 2Phase 3Phase 4

Registration and recruitment status do not establish safety, efficacy, or regulatory approval.

Why this record appears here · 100% topic match

The title, summary, or source keywords matched one or more topics followed by immortal.life. A higher percentage means a stronger topic match; it does not rate safety, effectiveness, or study quality.

  • Sarcopenia · 100%Title contains controlled term: sarcopenia. Abstract contains controlled term: sarcopenia. Source terminology contains: sarcopenia. Title supplies longevity context: older adult. Study type is explicitly identified as INTERVENTIONAL.

Automated source check 100% · update recency 85%. These figures help sort records; they are not medical ratings.