Clinical trial registry record

Atrophic Age-related Macular Degeneration Treated With Intravitreal Injections of Umbilical Cord Blood Platelet-rich Plasma

A registered study indexed because it matched monitored longevity research terms. Registry status: Recruiting. Registration does not establish safety or effectiveness.

Plain-language guide

Five questions to ask about this record

What this is
A clinical study registration, not a result or recommendation.
Why it may matter
The registry currently reports Recruiting.
Evidence
Registered phase not reported study.
Main limitation
Registration does not prove that the intervention works, is safe, or is available to you.
What changed
Registry metadata was last updated September 23, 2025.
Where to verify
Open the primary registry below for eligibility, locations, contacts, and current status.
Registry ID
NCT05706896
Last registry update
September 23, 2025
Status
Recruiting
Phase
Phase not reported
Sponsor
Fondazione Policlinico Universitario Agostino Gemelli IRCCS
Enrollment
36
Countries
Italy
Match confidence
100%
Source feed
ClinicalTrials.gov
Automated source synopsis

A registered study indexed because it matched monitored longevity research terms. Registry status: Recruiting. Registration does not establish safety or effectiveness.

Evidence snapshot

What the source actually supports

Evidence stage
Phase not reported
Study design
RANDOMIZED · PARALLEL · TREATMENT · NONE
Evidence population
Human clinical study registration
Participants
36
Population
ALL · 65 Years
Duration
2022-12-14 to 2026-02-10
Intervention
Intravitreal injection of CB-PRP
Comparator
Not reported
Outcomes measured
Autofluorescence atrophy area changes in treated eyes compared with sham group — 1 year; Autofluorescence atrophy area changes in treated eyes compared with sham group (1) — 1 year; ETDRS visual acuity — 1 year; Mean increase in ONL thickness and retinal volumetrics — 1 year; Mean increase in retinal volumetrics — 1 year; Stabilization of the atrophy region of the EPR — 1 year; Retinography of the ocular fundus — 1 year; Incomplete retinal pigment epithelial (RPE) and outer retinal atrophy (iRORA) — 1 year; Outer retinal atrophy (iRORA) — 1 year
Reported result
No reusable finding-level result is available in this record.

Main limitationThis is a study registration. No reusable structured result is available here, so it cannot show whether the intervention worked or was safe.

Safety and approvalEligibility, adverse-event details, and clinical decisions must be checked in the official registry and with qualified clinicians. Trial registration is not regulatory approval and does not establish that an intervention is available.

Source supportStructured registry protocol metadata; no finding-level conclusion is generated.

Trial stage · Phase not reportedA trial phase describes development stage; it does not establish a positive result.
Phase 1Phase 2Phase 3Phase 4

Registration and recruitment status do not establish safety, efficacy, or regulatory approval.

Why this record appears here · 100% topic match

The title, summary, or source keywords matched one or more topics followed by immortal.life. A higher percentage means a stronger topic match; it does not rate safety, effectiveness, or study quality.

  • Vision ageing · 100%Title contains controlled term: age-related macular degeneration. Abstract contains controlled term: age-related macular degeneration. Source terminology contains: age-related macular degeneration. Title supplies longevity context: age-related. Study type is explicitly identified as INTERVENTIONAL.

Automated source check 100% · update recency 65%. These figures help sort records; they are not medical ratings.