Clinical trial registry record

Anabolic Effects of Whey and Casein After Strength Training in Young and Elderly

A registered study indexed because it matched monitored longevity research terms. Registry status: Completed. Registration does not establish safety or effectiveness.

Plain-language guide

Five questions to ask about this record

What this is
A clinical study registration, not a result or recommendation.
Why it may matter
The registry currently reports Completed.
Evidence
Registered phase not reported study.
Main limitation
Registration does not prove that the intervention works, is safe, or is available to you.
What changed
Registry metadata was last updated April 10, 2018.
Where to verify
Open the primary registry below for eligibility, locations, contacts, and current status.
Registry ID
NCT02968888
Last registry update
April 10, 2018
Status
Completed
Phase
Phase not reported
Sponsor
Norwegian School of Sport Sciences
Enrollment
43
Countries
Norway
Match confidence
100%
Source feed
ClinicalTrials.gov
Automated source synopsis

A registered study indexed because it matched monitored longevity research terms. Registry status: Completed. Registration does not establish safety or effectiveness.

Evidence snapshot

What the source actually supports

Evidence stage
Phase not reported
Study design
RANDOMIZED · CROSSOVER · BASIC SCIENCE · TRIPLE
Evidence population
Human clinical study registration
Participants
43
Population
ALL · 18 Years
Duration
2014-08-01 to 2017-05-01
Intervention
Strength training; Milk 1%; Whey protein concentrate 80; Native whey
Comparator
Milk
Outcomes measured
Mixed muscle fractional synthetic rate — Three to one hours prior to a bout of strength training and protein consumption; Mixed muscle fractional synthetic rate — One to five hours after a bout of strength training and protein consumption; Mixed muscle fractional synthetic rate — From three to five hours after a bout of strength training and protein consump…; Mixed muscle fractional breakdown rate — From three to five hours after a bout of strength training and protein consump…; Ratio of phosphorylated to total ribosomal protein S6 kinase beta-1(P70S6K) change from baseline — 30 min before, 1, 2.…; Phosphorylation of phosphorylated to total eukaryotic elongation factor 2 (eEF-2) change from baseline — 30 min before,…; Phosphorylation of phosphorylated to total eukaryotic translation initiation factor 4E-binding protein 1 (4EBP-1) chang…; Intracellular translocation of forkhead box O3 (FOXO3a) change from baseline — 30 min before, 1, 2.5 and 5 hours after…; Intracellular translocation of muscle RING-finger protein-1 (Murf-1) change from baseline — 30 min before, 1, 2.5 and 5…; Intracellular translocation of Atrogin1 change from baseline — 30 min before, 1, 2.5 and 5 hours after training and pro…; Ubiquitin — 30 min before, 1, 2.5 and 5 hours after training and protein intake; Plasma amino acid concentration — 180 and 60 min before, and 45, 60, 75, 120, 160, 180, 200, 220 and 300 min after trai…; Muscle force generating capacity change from baseline — 15 min before, 15 and 300 min after, and 24 hours after trainin…; Plasma glucose — 180 and 60 min before, and 45, 60, 75, 120, 160, 180, 200, 220 and 300 min after training and protein…; Plasma insulin — 180 and 60 min before, and 45, 60, 75, 120, 160, 180, 200, 220 and 300 min after training and protein…; Serum urea — 180 and 60 min before, and 60, 10, 180 and 300 min after training and protein intake; Serum ureic acid — 180 and 60 min before, and 60, 10, 180 and 300 min after training and protein intake; Serum creatine kinase — 180 and 60 min before, and 60, 10, 180 and 300 min after training and protein intake; Change in ATP-binding cassette transporter (ABCA1) messenger ribonucleic acid (mRNA) — 1 hour after training and protei…; Change in ABCA1 mRNA — 5 hous after training and protein intake
Reported result
No reusable finding-level result is available in this record.

Main limitationThis is a study registration. No reusable structured result is available here, so it cannot show whether the intervention worked or was safe.

Safety and approvalEligibility, adverse-event details, and clinical decisions must be checked in the official registry and with qualified clinicians. Trial registration is not regulatory approval and does not establish that an intervention is available.

Source supportStructured registry protocol metadata; no finding-level conclusion is generated.

Trial stage · Phase not reportedA trial phase describes development stage; it does not establish a positive result.
Phase 1Phase 2Phase 3Phase 4

Registration and recruitment status do not establish safety, efficacy, or regulatory approval.

Why this record appears here · 100% topic match

The title, summary, or source keywords matched one or more topics followed by immortal.life. A higher percentage means a stronger topic match; it does not rate safety, effectiveness, or study quality.

  • Resistance training · 100%Title contains controlled term: strength training. Abstract contains controlled term: strength training. Source terminology contains: strength training. Title supplies longevity context: elderly. Study type is explicitly identified as INTERVENTIONAL.

Automated source check 100% · update recency 50%. These figures help sort records; they are not medical ratings.